Institute for Mechanical Engineering
Study of Mechanical Engineering
[ deutsch ]

Mechanical engineering: Study with good prospects

With almost one million employees and 230 billion DM year's turnover the machine and process engeneering is the largest industry branch in germany. With an proportion of 57 percent it obtains more than a half of ist conversion with the export and is thereby leader at the world market. The minted interdisciplinary research and development as well as the worldwide demand for the know-how from germany had made mechanical engeneering to an outstanding discipline in engeneering science.

Today successful mechanical engeneers have beside the predestination for responsible work a high standard in social and ecological competence, they are flexible and creative, they think constructively and in technical correlations. This is the result of the more independent character of the studies which teaches beside the special technical knowledge also a founded basic knowledge.

The independance teached during the studies is an important requirement for outstanding positions in industrial companies: The aquired knowledge status have to be adapted constantly to the newest developments of a demanding technology with high-quality and have to be imparted through cooperative guidance of employees. An inquiry among 1500 managers from 7 countries of Europe certified success: Accordingly the formation of german executives is evaluated as very positive abroad Europe.

But what's about the carreer prospects as a mechanical engineer? Due to the negative economic situation and by that worse employment chances the number of first-year students in mechanical engeneering decreases since the beginning of the 90's more than a half. Meanwhile the exportvolume of machine and process engeneering increases strongly.

Seeing that the industry expected a continuous growth trend and according to an inquiry almost 40% of the enterprises want to increase the number of employees in the coming years (furthermore 50% want the number to keep stable) it is to reckon rather with a lack as with a surplus of young engeneers. According to this situation for first-year students from today good carreer opportunities will result. The new generation already felt first signs for the new trend in 1996 when the lead-in to occupation became noticeably easier.

The increasingly market globalisation has a forming influence on the study of mechanical engeneering. Partnerships of the TU Clausthal with universities abroad as well as contacts to many german enterprises which consolidate their presence on far markets permit study stays and practical courses abroad. Particularly young qualified engeneers, who are prepared to work longer time abroad, have good chances on the job market.

Mechanical engineering: Study of a cross-section technology

Mechanical engeneering is a cross-section technology and for this students are prepared inter-disciplinary. Here it concerns not only the production of efficient machines but also continual new contributions to the solution of urgent questions in economy and society: in environmental protection, in the power supply, in the health service or within the areas mobility and communication. Because of the close connection with other disciplines and with new technologies the german mechanical engeneering (and therefore also its world-wide costumers) achieve decisive innovative advances.

The fact that the mechanical engeneering of Clausthal in this connection is involved quite in front is shown by numerous research projects in co-operation with most international teams, e. g. current collaborative research centres (Sonderforschungsbereiche) from "Manufacturing in Sheet Metal" up to "Design of Process Engineering Machinery". Such research projects which are single in germany are possible in Clausthal because the whole range of basic research assembled at one place can be used here: Alone 58 scientists from 13 institutes of the TU Clausthal are working in the two mentioned research projects. For students is this a cornucopia with topics for study and master's theses about the technology from tomorrow. And still another further topic source students are able to "breach" - off their own bat or with the help of the TU - the good contacts of the mechanical engeneering from Clausthal with the industry and commerce.

At the TU Clausthal altogether 40 institutes, wich represents 11 fields of activity, ensure that in the mechanical and the process engeneering the subjects "don't run out". The subject in the basic study is by the way almost identical for both courses of studies. Those who have the first diploma in the bag can follow their personal interests in the main study and can select from a multitude of extensions. There are two main extensions to choose from: "construction, manufacturing and operation" as well as "electronical technology and system automation". Students can put the main emphasis in their studies by selecting lectures and exercises, they can aquire e. g. special know-how in "component strength", "measurement and automation", "development and planning" or "production technologie".

And that's not all! The aptitude for following, determining functions requires the special studies to accompany by questions of the marketing and management, communication and other areas in the field of work of mechanical engeneers. In the course of their studies the studends of Clausthal get a special profile. It's the picture of a generalist, who is able to work universally and who has specialized himself with the main emphasises during the study by not ignoring the basic knowledge.

In mechanical engeneering the dovetailing between university research and economics is extaordinarily close. The best gauge of the significance of this co-operation is the increasing requirement of transfer technology and new research tasks. Mechanical engeneers take responsibility in economy, at universities or in other facilities, for example.

  • as specialists in research and development,
  • in the development, construction and planning of products,
  • in projectteams with integrative and interdisciplinary activities,
  • in high positions with cross-sectional tasks,
  • as managers, business employers, advisors or test engineers and
  • as teacher in different educational institutions.

However the largest manpower offers in each case the industry with a lion's share of middle and smaller enterprises. Especially in these companies engeneers are in demand as generalists, because they cover a large range with their work. Mechanical engeneers are much sought after in almost all areas of industry, economics as well as in public administrations and institutions.

Institut für Maschinenwesen
Der Studiengang
Maschinenbau
[ english ]

Maschinenbau: Studium mit guten Aussichten

Mit nahezu einer Million Beschäftigten und 230 Milliarden DM Jahresumsatz ist der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau der größte deutsche Industriezweig. Mit einem Anteil von 57 Prozent erzielt er weit über die Hälfte seines Umsatzes über den Export und ist damit führend im Weltmarkt. Die ausgeprägt interdisziplinäre Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die weltweite Nachfrage nach dem Know-how aus Deutschland haben den Maschinenbau als Ingenieurwissenschaft hierzulande zu einer herausragenden Disziplin gemacht.

Erfolgreiche Maschinenbau-Ingenieure verfügen heute neben der Prädestination für verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben über ein hohes Maß an sozialer und ökologischer Kompetenz, sie sind flexibel und kreativ, sie denken konstruktiv und in technischen Zusammenhängen. Dazu trägt der eher selbständige als schulische Charakter des Studiums bei, der neben der Vermittlung von speziellem Fachwissen auf fundiertes Methodenwissen abzielt.

Die im Studium vermittelte Selbständigkeit ist für eine herausragende Stellung in Industriebetrieben wichtige Voraussetzung: Denn der einmal erworbene Wissensstand muss im Berufsleben ständig den neuesten Entwicklungen einer immer höherwertigen und anspruchsvolleren Technik angepasst und durch kooperative Mitarbeiterführung weitervermittelt werden. Den Erfolg bescheinigte eine Umfrage unter 1500 Managern aus 7 Ländern Europas: Demnach wird im europäischen Ausland die Ausbildung deutscher Führungskräfte als sehr positiv bewertet.

Doch wie steht es um die zukünftigen Berufschancen als Maschinenbau-Ingenieur? Infolge negativer Konjunkturaussichten und damit schlechterer Einstellungschancen ist die Zahl der Studienanfänger im Fach Maschinenbau seit Anfang der 90er Jahre um mehr als die Hälfte zurückgegangen. Mittlerweile nimmt das Exportvolumen des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus wieder kräftig zu.

Da die Branche einen anhaltenden Wachstumstrend erwartet und laut Umfrage fast 40 Prozent der Unternehmen die Zahl der Ingenieure in den kommenden Jahren erhöhen wollen (weitere 50 Prozent wollen die Zahl stabil halten), ist eher mit einem Mangel als mit einem Überschuss an Nachwuchsingenieuren zu rechnen. Für Studienanfänger von heute ergeben sich aus dieser Gesamtsituation gute Berufschancen. Erste Anzeichen für den neuen Trend hat der Nachwuchs bereits 1996 verspürt, als der Einstieg in den Beruf wieder spürbar erleichtert wurde.

Die zunehmend Globalisierung des Marktes prägt das Studium des Maschinenbaus. Partnerschaften der TU Clausthal mit Hochschulen im Ausland sowie Kontakte zu vielen deutschen Unternehmen, die ihre Präsenz auf fernen Märkten ausbauen, erlauben Studienaufenthalte und Betriebspraktika im Ausland. Denn besonders gute Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt haben junge qualifizierte Ingenieure, die darauf vorbereitet sind, auch längere Zeit im Ausland tätig zu sein.

Maschinenbau: Studium einer Querschnittstechnologie

Der Maschinenbau ist eine Querschnittstechnologie, und darauf werden Studierende fächerübergreifend vorbereitet. Denn hier geht es nicht etwa allein um die Herstellung effizienter Maschinen in hoher Qualität, sondern um ständige neue Beiträge zur Lösung dringender Aufgaben in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft: so im Umweltschutz, in der Energieversorgung, im Gesundheitswesen oder in den Bereichen Mobilität und Kommunikation. Eben wegen der Verflechtung mit anderen Disziplinen und neuen Technologien gelingen dem deutschen Maschinenbau (und damit auch seinen weltweiten Kunden) entscheidene Innovationsschübe.

Dass der Clausthaler Maschinenbau hierbei ganz vorne mitmischt, zeigen zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte in Zusammenarbeit mit oft internationalen Teams, z.B. aktuelle Sonderforschungsbereiche vom "Fertigen in Feinblech" bis hin zur "Konstruktion verfahrenstechnischer Maschinen". Solche in Deutschland einmaligen Forschungsprojekte sind in Clausthal möglich, weil hier die ganze Bandbreite der Grundlagenforschung an einem Ort genutzt werden kann: Allein für die zwei genannten Sonderforschungsbereiche sind 58 Wissenschaftler aus 13 Clausthaler Instituten tätig. Für Studierende entpuppt sich das geradezu als ein Füllhorn mit Themen für Studien- und Diplomarbeiten über die Technik von morgen. Und noch eine weitere Themenquelle können Studenten - auf eigene Faust oder mit Hilfe der TU - "anzapfen", nämlich die guten Drähte des Clausthaler Maschinenbaus zur Wirtschaft und Industrie.

An der TU Clausthal sorgen insgesamt 40 Institute, die 11 Fachgebiete vertreten, dafür, dass in Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik der Lehrstoff "nicht ausgeht". Im Grundstudium ist er übrigens für beide Studiengänge nahezu identisch. Wer erstmal das Vordiplom in der Tasche hat, kann im Hauptstudium seinen persönlichen Interessen folgen und aus einer Vielzahl von Vertiefungsrichtungen wählen. Zwei Studienrichtungen stehen zur Auswahl: "Konstruktion, Fertigung und Betrieb" sowie "Elektrotechnik und Systemautomatisierung". Studierende können durch Gruppierung von Vorlesungs- und Übungsangeboten ihrer Wahl Schwerpunkte setzen, sie können z.B. Spezialkenntnisse erwerben in "Bauteilfestigkeit", "Mess- und Automatisierungstechnik", "Entwicklung und Planung" oder "Fertigungstechnologie", um nur wenige zu nennen.

Damit aber noch nicht genug. Die Eignung für spätere, maßgebende Aufgaben verlangt eine Flankierung des Fachstudiums durch Fragen der Betriebswirtschaft, der Kommunikation und anderer Gebiete im Arbeitsfeld von Maschinenbau-Ingenieuren. Im Laufe des Studiums erhalten die Clausthaler Studenten ein besonderes Profil. Es ist das Bild eines Generalisten, der universell einsetzbar ist und sich bei hervorragenden Grundlagenkenntnissen durch seine Schwerpunkte im Studium in beträchtlichem Umfang spezialisieren gelernt hat.

Die Verzahnung zwischen Hochschulforschung und Wirtschaft ist beim Maschinenbau außerordentlich eng. Ständig neue Forschungsaufgaben und der wachsende Bedarf an Technologietransfer sind der beste Gradmesser für die Bedeutung dieser Zusammenarbeit. Maschinenbauingenieure übernehmen Verantwortung in der Wirtschaft, an Universitäten oder anderen Einrichtungen, zum Beispiel

  • als Spezialisten in Forschung und Entwicklung,
  • bei der Entwicklung, Konstruktion und Planung von Produkten,
  • bei integrativen und interdisziplinären Tätigkeiten in Projektteams,
  • in Stabfunktionen mit Querschnittsaufgaben,
  • als Manager, Unternehmer, Berater und Prüfingenieure und
  • als Lehrer in verschiedenen Bildungseinrichtungen.

Das größte Arbeitspotential bietet aber in jedem Fall die Industrie mit einem Löwenanteil mittlerer und kleinerer Unternehmen. Gerade in diesen Firmen sind Ingenieure als Generalisten gefragt, weil sie mit ihrer Arbeit eine große Bandbreite abdecken. Gesucht sind Maschinenbau-Ingenieure in nahezu allen Branchen von Industrie, Wirtschaft sowie in öffentlichen Verwaltungen und Institutionen.